Melilla is a Spanish autonomous city situated in the Mediterranean, on the northern coast of North Africa. Be considered as part of the province of Malaga before March 14, 1995, when the city’s Statute of Autonomy was passed. Population of Melilla   was  71,448 in 2008.
The city and its territory covers about 12.5 km2 in the eastern part of Cape Three Forces. Its population consists of Christians, Muslims (chiefly Berber), and small minorities of Jews . Melilla’s architectural heritage is considered, along with Barcelona, as one of the best examples of Spanish modernist style of the early twentieth century.
  1. A street in old town of Melilla
  2. Melilla is subdivided into eight neighborhoods (barrios):
  3. Barrio de Medina Sidonia
  4. Barrio del Real
  5. Barrio de la Victoria
  6. Barrio de los Héroes de España
  7. Barrio del General Gómez Jordana
  8. Barrio del Príncipe de Asturias
  9. Barrio del Carmen
  10. Barrio de La Paz
Melilla and Ceuta are the only two European-Union territories located in mainland Africa.
The government of Morocco has repeatedly requested from Spain the sovereignty of Ceuta and Melilla, of Perejil Island, and of some other small areas lacking permanent population. The Spanish position is that both Ceuta and Melilla are integral parts of the Spanish state, and have been since the 15th century, centuries before Morocco’s independence from Spain in 1956. Morocco denies these claims and maintains that the Spanish presence on or near its coast is a remnant of the colonial past which should be ended. The United Nations list of Non-Self-Governing Territories does not include these Spanish territories as colonies.
Main brunch of economy is fishing.
Melilla is connected to the Spanish cities of Málaga, Madrid, Granada and Almería by air as well as to Málaga and Almería by ferry.
This entry was posted in sobre la ciudad. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>